Barnetts Creek Baptist is a vibrant body of believers who are proud of their rich heritage. The church was constituted more than 150 years ago on November 30, 1856. The newly formed congregation faced the onset of the Civil War and surely had much to pray about. The Civil War devastated Georgia Baptist life. Churches were closed, financial resources dried up and mission work, except to the soldiers, disappeared. However, Barnetts Creek Baptist Church was known for having faithful, consecrated members whose enthusiasm and Christian influence continued through the war years.
The first church building was known to have been situated about 3 miles southwest of Ochlocknee. The church later purchased one acre of land at the present location for the sum of $15.00. A wood frame building with seating for 500 people was built. This building, which was used for 60 years, was destroyed by fire in April 1939, and in May 1939, the County Commissioners moved the old Barnetts Creek School from the intersection of Stewart and Singletary Roads to the church’s present location.
BR>
In October 1943, a meeting was called to discuss plans for a new church building, and although it was incomplete, Easter services were held in the new church in April of 1944. On June 10, 1945, the present church was completed at a cost of $4,200.00 (not including donations of labor and materials) and dedicated debt-free to the glory of God.
In 1954, Mrs. Guy Taylor donated 2 acres of land for a pastorium. The pastorium was completed by the early 1960’s and a Sunday School wing with a nursery and restrooms was added to the south side of the church. A fellowship hall was built at the rear of the church.
The Communion table was given by Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Barwick in memory of their son, Eugene, Jr.
The sanctuary was completely remodeled in 1979/1980, and a choir loft and heated baptistery were added. The sound room was dedicated in memory of Emmett White in 1995 and covered walkways were installed in memory of W.R. “Jack” Reneau. The new Lewis-Pipkin fellowship hall, additional classrooms and a large kitchen were completed in 2002. The stage area in the fellowship hall was given by Ilene Coffield in memory of her daughter, Renee Craine. Then in 2004, a youth center was added to accommodate the expanding youth program. A beautiful garden area for prayer and meditation was donated in memory of Tiffany Brown and Danielle Stewart, two dedicated members of the youth group. In 2005 the sanctuary was once again renovated.
Following the example set by earlier congregations, all buildings, renovations and improvements have been paid for as work was completed. The church remains in a debt-free status. Many people have donated money, materials, time, talent and work in completing each project.
Two churches have branched out from Barnetts Creek Baptist Church: Ochlocknee Baptist Church in 1887 and Pine Park Baptist Church in 1904.
It is with deep appreciation and humility that we, the members of Barnetts Creek Baptist Church, view the past, and it is with great determination and enthusiasm that we face the future. To God be the glory for every accomplishment past, present and future.
Pastor's Message | Youth Ministries | Church Covenant | Our Beliefs |
Back to Main | Map to Church | Worship Times | More Links |